

Ten Contiguous Counties in Kentucky Eligible as USDA Designates 77 Tennessee Counties Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Kentucky | March 28, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Tennessee

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: November 25, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Anderson, Bedford, Benton, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Cannon, Carroll, Cheatham, Chester, Claiborne, Clay, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Davidson, Decatur, DeKalb, Dickson, Dyer, Fayette, Fentress, Franklin, Gibson, Giles, Grainger, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Loudon, McMinn, McNairy, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Maury, Meigs, Monroe, Moore, Morgan, Overton, Perry, Pickett, Polk, Putnam, Rhea, Roane, Rutherford, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Shelby, Smith, Tipton, Union, Van Buren, Warren, Wayne, Weakley, White, Williamson, Wilson

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Alabama: Jackson, Lauderdale, Limestone, Madison
Arkansas: Crittenden, Mississippi
Georgia: Catoosa, Dade, Fannin, Murray, Walker, Whitfield
Kentucky: Bell, Calloway, Clinton, Cumberland, Graves, Hickman, McCreary, Monroe, Wayne, Whitley
Mississippi: Alcorn, Benton, DeSoto, Marshall, Tippah, Tishomingo
Missouri: Pemiscot
North Carolina: Cherokee, Graham, Haywood, Swain
Tennessee: Cocke, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Lake, Macon, Montgomery, Obion, Robertson,

Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale **Virginia:** Lee

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your <u>local USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov