

USDA Designates 22 Missouri Counties Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Missouri | March 29, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Missouri

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: November 25, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Adair, Audrain, Bates, Cole, Cooper, Franklin, Henry, Hickory, Knox, Lewis, Maries, Marion, Moniteau, Monroe, Morgan, Pettis, Polk, Ralls, St. Clair, Saline, Schuyler, and Shelby

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Missouri- Benton, Boone, Callaway, Camden, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Gasconade, Greene, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Linn, Macon, Miller, Montgomery, Osage, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Putnam, Randolph, St. Charles, St. Louis, Scotland, Sullivan, Vernon, Warren, and Washington

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or

to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov