

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

### **USDA Designates 43 Iowa Counties as Natural Disaster Areas**

News Release | Iowa | April 08, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

**Secretarial Declaration Number: S5684** 

Emergency Loan Application Deadline: December 2, 2024

**Primary Counties Eligible:** Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Howard, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Mitchell, Poweshiek, Tama, Washington, Winneshiek, Worth

**Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:** Allamakee, Clinton, Dubuque, Grundy, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Keokuk, Louisa, Mahaska, Marshall, Muscatine, Scott, Winnebago, Wright

**Disaster Description:** Drought

#### More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.

# **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov