

USDA Designates 21 Oklahoma Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

News Release | Oklahoma | April 10, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: 11/25/2024

Impacted Area: Oklahoma

Primary Counties Eligible: Atoka, Beckham, Choctaw, Coal, Greer, Harmon, Hughes, Jackson, Osage, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Washington

Contiguous Counties Eligible:

Oklahoma: Bryan, Custer, Garvin, Johnston, Kay, Kiowa, Latimer, Le Flore, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Noble, Okfuskee, Pawnee, Pittsburg, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Seminole, Tillman, Tulsa, Washita
Kansas: Chautauqua, Cowley, Montgomery
Texas: Childress, Collingsworth, Hardeman, Lamar, Red River, Wheeler, Wilbarger

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought

Application Deadline: 11/25/2024

Impacted Area: Kansas

Primary Counties Eligible: Barton, Chautauqua, Clay, Cloud, Decatur, Dickinson, Elk, Ellis, Ellsworth, Geary, Gove, Graham, Harvey, Jewell, Lincoln, McPherson, Marshall, Mitchell, Montgomery, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sheridan, Smith, Strafford, Trego, Washington, Wilson.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kansas: Allen, Barber, Butler, Cowley, Edwards, Finney, Greenwood, Hodgeman, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Lane, Logan, Marion, Nemaha, Neosho, Pawnee, Pottawatomie, Rawlins, Scott, Sedgwick, Thomas, Wabausee, Woodson.

Nebraska: Franklin, Furnas, Gage, Harlan, Jefferson, Nuckolls, Pawnee, Red Willow, Thayer, Webster.

Oklahoma: Nowata, Osage, Washington,

Triggering Disaster 3: Drought

Application Deadline: 11/25/2024

Impacted Area: New Mexico

Primary Counties Eligible: Bernalillo, Catron, Chaves, Cibola, Colfax, Curry, De Baca, Dona Ana, Eddy, Grant, Guadalupe, Harding, Hidalgo, Lea, Lincoln, Los Alamos, Luna, McKinely, Mora, Otero, Quay, Rio Arriba, Roosevelt, Sandoval, San Juan, Santa Fe, Sierra, Socorro, Taos, Torrance, Union, Valencia,

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Arizona: Apache, Cochise, Greenlee
Colorado: Archuleta, Baca, Conejos, Costilla, La Plata, Las Animas, Montezuma
Oklahoma: Cimarron
Texas: Andrews, Bailey, Cochran, Culberson, Dallam, Deaf Smooth, El Paso, Gaines, Hartley, Hudspeth, Loving, Oldham, Parmer, Reeves, Winkler, Yoakum
Utah: San Juan

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov