Logo: USDA

USDA Designates Eight Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Eighteen Contiguous Counties Also Eligible for Assistance

News Release | Montana | May 22, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Montana

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: 1/8/2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Cascade, Glacier, Judith Basin, Lewis and Clark, Meagher, Pondera, Sanders and Teton

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Montana: Broadwater, Chouteau, Fergus, Flathead, Gallatin, Jefferson, Lake, Liberty, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Park, Powell, Sweet Grass, Toole and Wheatland

Idaho: Bonner and Shoshone

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov