

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

FEMA Designates 11 Kentucky Counties as a Natural Disaster Area Due to Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, Landslides and Mudslides that occurred on April 2, 2024 – Adams, Brown, Lawrence, and Scioto Counties in Ohio are Eligible as Contiguous

News Release | Ohio | June 18, 2024

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability. USDA's FSA offers these loans for losses caused by the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, landslides and mudslides that occurred on April 2, 2024. The deadline for producers in designated primary and contiguous counties to apply for loans is January 22, 2025.

Impacted Area: Kentucky, Indiana, Indiana, Ohio, Tennessee, and West Virginia

<u>Triggering Disaster</u>: Severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, landslides, and mudslides that occurred on April 2, 2024

Application Deadline: January 22, 2025

<u>Primary Counties Eligible</u>: Kentucky – Boyd, Carter, Fayette, Greenup, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Mason, Oldham, Union, and Whitley counties in Kentucky.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kentucky – Bell, Bourbon, Bracken, Bullitt, Carroll, Clark, Crittenden, Elliott, Fleming, Franklin, Garrard, Hardin, Henderson, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lewis, McCreary, Madison, Mercer, Owen, Robertson, Rowan, Scott, Shelby, Trimble, Webster, and Woodford Counties.

Illinois - Gallatin and Hardin Counties.

Indiana - Clark, Floyd, Harrison, and Posey Counties.

Ohio – Adams, Brown, Lawrence, and Scioto Counties.

Tennessee – Campbell and Claiborne Counties.

West Virginia - Wayne County.

More Resources:

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov