

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 13 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding

News Release | Texas | June 28, 2024

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Texas

<u>Triggering Disaster 1:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding beginning April 26, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: February 4, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Austin, Dallas, Hockley, Kaufman, and Newton

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

cominguious comin				
Bailey	Cochran	Collin	Colorado	Denton
Ellis	Fayette	Fort Bend	Hale	Henderson
Hunt	Jasper	Lamb	Lubbock	Lynn
Orange	Rockwall	Sabine	Tarrant	Terry

Van Zandt Wa	aller Washington	Wharton	Yoakum
--------------	------------------	---------	--------

Louisiana: Beauregard, Calcasieu, and Sabine

<u>Triggering Disaster 2:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding beginning April 26, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: February 6, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Coryell, Falls, Leon, Smith, and Van Zandt

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Anderson	Bell	Bosque	Brazos	Cherokee
Freestone	Gregg	Hamilton	Henderson	Houston
Hunt	Kaufman	Lampasas	Limestone	McLennan
Madison	Milam	Rains	Robertson	Rusk
Upshur	Wood			

<u>Triggering Disaster 3:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding beginning April 26, 2024, through June 5, 2024.

Application Deadline: February 10, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Ellis, Navarro, and Terrell

<u>Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:</u> Brewster, Crockett, Dallas, Freestone, Henderson, Hill, Johnson, Kaufman, Limestone, Pecos, Tarrant, and Val Verde

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or

to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

-

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov