

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# USDA Designates 6 Iowa Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Excessive Rain, Flash Flooding, Hail, High Winds and Lightning

News Release | Minnesota | August 09, 2024

View PDF

Jackson, Nobles, and Rock Counties in Minnesota Eligible as Contiguous

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

**Impacted Area**: lowa

<u>Triggering Disaster</u>: Excessive Rain, Flash Flooding, Hail, High Winds and Lightning occurring June

1 through July 4, 2024. (S5735)

Application Deadline: April 7, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Clay, Dickinson, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Sioux

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Iowa: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Emmet, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas

Minnesota: Jackson, Nobles, Rock

South Dakota: Lincoln, Minnehaha, Union

#### More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

## **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov