

USDA Announces Availability of Low-Interest Physical Loss Loans for Producers Affected by Excessive Rain, High Winds, Hail and Flash Floods

News Release | South Dakota | August 13, 2024

View PDF

Physical loss loans through the United States Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) can help producers repair or replace damaged or destroyed physical property essential to the success of the agricultural operation, including livestock losses. Examples of property commonly affected include essential farm buildings, fixtures to real estate, equipment, livestock, perennial crops, fruit and nut bearing trees, and harvested or stored crops and hay.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster: Excessive Rain, High Winds, Hail and a Tornado that occurred June 12, 2024, to June 13, 2024.

Application Deadline: March 10, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Stearns

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Benton, Douglas, Kandiyohi, Meeker, Morrison, Pope, Sherburne, Todd, and Wright

Triggering Disaster 2: Excessive Rain, High Winds, and Hail that occurred on June 22, 2024.

Application Deadline: March 10, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Lincoln

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Lyon, Pipestone, and Yellow Medicine

Triggering Disaster 3: Flooding, Excessive Rain, and Flash Floods that occurred on June 1, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: March 10, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Blue Earth, Cottonwood, Fillmore, Jackson, Le Sueur, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Rice, Rock, and St. Louis

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Aitkin, Brown, Carlton, Dakota, Dodge, Faribault, Goodhue, Houston, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Lincoln, Lyon, Mower, Olmsted, Redwood, Renville, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Waseca, Watonwan, and Winona

Iowa: Dickinson, Emmet, Howard, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, and Winneshiek

South Dakota: Brookings, Minnehaha, and Moody

Wisconsin: Douglas

Triggering Disaster 4: Flooding, Excessive Rain, and Flash Floods that occurred on June 1, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: March 12, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Blue Earth, Cottonwood, Fillmore, Goodhue, Jackson, Le Sueur, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Rice, Rock, and St. Louis

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Aitkin, Brown, Carlton, Dakota, Dodge, Faribault, Houston, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Lincoln, Lyon, Mower, Olmsted, Redwood, Renville, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Watonwan, and Winona

Iowa: Dickinson, Emmet, Howard, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, and Winneshiek

South Dakota: Brookings, Minnehaha, and Moody

Wisconsin: Douglas, Pepin, and Pierce

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov