

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Additional Minnesota Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas Due to Severe Storms and Flooding in Iowa in June and July

News Release | Minnesota | August 30, 2024

View PDF

Numerous additional counties eligible for assistance.

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Iowa

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4796)

Application Deadline: February 24, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Clay, Emmet, Lyon, Plymouth, Sioux

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Dickinson, Kossuth, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Woodbury

Minnesota: Jackson, Martin, Nobles, Rock

South Dakota: Lincoln, Minnehaha, Union

<u>Amendment 1:</u> Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4796)

Application Deadline: March 3, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Buena Vista, Cherokee, O'Brien

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Calhoun, Clay, Dickinson, Ida, Lyon, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Woodbury

<u>Amendment 2:</u> Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4796)

Application Deadline: March 10, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Woodbury

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Cherokee, Crawford, Ida, Monona, Plymouth

Nebraska: Dakota, Thurston

South Dakota: Union

<u>Amendment 3:</u> Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4796)

Application Deadline: March 18, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Dickinson, Humboldt, Palo Alto

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Buena Vista, Clay, Emmet. Hancock, Kossuth, O'Brien, Osceola, Pocahontas, Webster, Wright

Minnesota: Jackson

<u>Amendment 4:</u> Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4796)

Application Deadline: March 24, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Osceola, Scott, Winnebago, Worth

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Illinois: Rock Island

Iowa: Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Clay, Clinton, Dickinson, Hancock, Kossuth, Lyon, Mitchell, Muscatine, O'Brien, Sioux

Minnesota: Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, Mower, Nobles

Amendment 5: Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024 – July 23, 2024. (M4796)

Application Deadline: March 24, 2025

Primary lowa Counties Eligible: No changes with this amendment

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: No changes with this amendment

Amendment 6: Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024 – July 23, 2024. (M4796)

Application Deadline: April 2, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Harrison, Monona, Pocahontas, Winneshiek, Wright

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Iowa: Allamakee, Buena Vista, Calhoun, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Palo Alto, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Webster, Woodbury

Minnesota: Fillmore, Houston

Amendment 8: Severe Storm, Flooding, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes occurring June 16, 2024 – July 23, 2024. (M4796)

Application Deadline: April 9, 2025

Primary Iowa Counties Eligible: Des Moines, Floyd, Howard, Kossuth, Mitchell

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Illinois: Henderson, Mercer

Iowa: Bremer, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Emmet, Franklin, Hancock, Henry, Humboldt, Lee, Louisa, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth, Wright

Minnesota: Faribault, Fillmore, Martin, Mower

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit <u>fema.gov/assistance</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov