

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Twelve Montana Counties, Including Rocky Boy's Indian Reservation and Fort Belknap Indian Community, as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Montana | September 05, 2024

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Montana

Triggering Disaster: Severe Winter Storm and Flooding

Application Deadline: 3/18/2025

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Blaine, Chouteau, Fergus, Hill, Judith Basin, Petroleum, Pondera, Teton, Toole, Wheatland, the Rocky Boy's Indian Reservation and the Fort Belknap Indian Community

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Montana: Cascade, Flathead, Garfield, Glacier, Golden Valley, Lewis and Clark, Liberty, Meagher, Musselshell, Phillips, Rosebud and Sweet Grass

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov