

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 56 Kentucky Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Indiana | September 06, 2024

View PDF

Crawford, Harrison and Perry Counties in Indiana are Contiguous Counties

Indianapolis, Sept. 6, 2024 - This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Kentucky

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, landslides and mudslides that occurred on May 21 through May 27, 2024

Application Deadline: July 24, 2025

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Kentucky Counties of Adair, Allen, Ballard, Barren, Breckinridge, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Edmonson, Estill, Fulton, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Livingston, Logan, Lyon McCracken, McCreary, McLean, Meade, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Owsley, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Simpson, Todd, Trigg, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Whitley and Woodford.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Illinois: Alexander, Hardin, Massac, Pope and Pulaski

Indiana: Crawford, Harrison and Perry

Kentucky: Anderson, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Boyle, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clark, Daviess, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Hardin, Harlan, Henderson, Jessamine, Lewis, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Nelson, Perry, Powell, Rowan, Scott, Taylor, Union, Webster and Wolfe.

Missouri: Mississippi and New Madrid.

Ohio: Lawrence and Scioto.

Tennessee: Campbell, Claiborne, Clay, Henry, Lake, Macon, Montgomery, Obion, Pickett, Robertson, Scott, Stewart, Sumner and Weakley.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov