

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Six Oklahoma Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

News Release | Oklahoma | September 09, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: April 21, 2025

Impacted Area: Oklahoma

Primary Counties Eligible: Custer

Contiguous Counties Eligible:

Oklahoma: Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Dewey, Roger Mills, Washita

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought

Application Deadline: April 28, 2025

Impacted Area: Oklahoma

Primary Counties Eligible: Blaine, Canadian, Dewey, Kingfisher, Major

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Oklahoma: Alfalfa, Caddo, Cleveland, Custer, Ellis, Garfield, Grady, Logan, McClain, Oklahoma, Roger Mills, Woods, Woodward

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov