

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Additional Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Recent Severe Storms and Flooding

News Release  $\parallel$  Minnesota  $\parallel$  September 10, 2024

View PDF

Lincoln, Pipestone, and Rock Counties named contiguous counties eligible for assistance due to severe weather in South Dakota.

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

<u>Triggering Disaster 1:</u> Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred from June 16, 2024, and continuing. (M4797)

**Application Deadline**: February 28, 2025

<u>Primary Counties Eligible</u>: Blue Earth, Carver, Cass, Cook, Cottonwood, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Jackson, Lake, Le Sueur, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rice, Rock, St. Louis, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Watonwan

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

**Minnesota:** Aitkin, Beltrami, Brown, Carlton, Crow Wing, Dakota, Dodge, Hennepin, Houston, Hubbard, Itasca, Koochiching, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Martin, Morrison, Mower, Nicollet, Olmsted, Redwood, Scott, Sibley, Todd, Wadena, Winona, Wright

lowa: Dickinson, Emmet, Howard, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth

**South Dakota:** Brookings, Minnehaha, Moody

Wisconsin: Buffalo, Douglas, Pepin, Pierce

<u>Disaster 1, Amendment 1:</u> Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred from June 16, 2024 to July 4, 2024. (M4797)

Application Deadline: February 28, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: No additions.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: No additions.

<u>Disaster 1, Amendment 2:</u> Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred from June 16, 2024 to July 4, 2024. (M4797)

Application Deadline: March 31, 2025

**Primary Counties Eligible:** Itasca, Mower, and Nicollet

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Iowa: Howard, Mitchell, Worth

**Minnesota:** Aitkin, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Cass, Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Koochiching, Le Sueur, Olmsted, Renville, St. Louis, Sibley, Steele

<u>Disaster 1, Amendment 3:</u> Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred from June 16, 2024 to July 4, 2024. (M4797)

**Application Deadline**: April 21, 2025

**Primary Counties Eligible:** Brown, McLeod, Martin, Redwood, Renville

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Iowa: Emmet, Kossuth

**Minnesota:** Blue Earth, Carver, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lyon, Meeker, Murray, Nicollet, Sibley, Watonwan, Wright, Yellow Medicine

<u>Disaster 1, Amendment 4:</u> Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred from June 16, 2024 to July 4, 2024. (M4797)

Application Deadline: April 28, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Houston, Sibley

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Iowa: Allamakee, Winneshiek

Minnesota: Carver, Fillmore, Le Sueur, McLeod, Nicollet, Renville, Scott, Winona

Wisconsin: La Crosse, Vernon

<u>Triggering Disaster 2:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, and Flooding occurring in South Dakota from June 16 to July 8, 2024. (M4807)

**Application Deadline**: April 15, 2025

<u>Primary South Dakota Counties Eligible:</u> Aurora, Bennett, Bon Homme, Brule, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Gregory, Hand, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jackson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Tripp, Turner, Union, Yankton

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Iowa: Lyon, Plymouth, Sioux, Woodbury

Minnesota: Lincoln, Pipestone, Rock

**Nebraska:** Boyd, Cedar, Cherry, Dakota, Dixon, Keya Paha, Knox **South Dakota:** Beadle, Brookings, Buffalo, Faulk, Haakon, Hyde, Jerauld, Jones, Kingsbury, Lyman, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Spink, Todd

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

### Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

#### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov