

USDA Designates Six Ohio Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Kentucky | August 19, 2020

View PDF

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, Aug. 19, 2020 - Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated six Ohio counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to recent natural disasters may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency loans</u>.

These natural disaster designations allow FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Excessive Rain and Cold Temperatures - April 8-May 29

Producers in Brown and Clermont counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain and cold temperatures that occurred April 8 through May 29, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Adams, Clinton, Hamilton, Highland, and Warren, along with Bracken, Campbell, Mason, and Pendleton counties in Kentucky, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Moisture and Cold Temperatures – April 10-May 30

Producers in Washington and Lawrence counties who suffered losses due to excessive moisture and cold temperatures that occurred April 10 through May 30, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Athens, Gallia, Jackson, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, and Scioto, along with Boyd and Greenup counties in Kentucky and Cabell, Pleasants, Tyler, Wayne and Wood counties in West Virginia, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain and Cold Temperatures - April 10-May 30

Producers in Gallia and Meigs counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain and cold temperatures that occurred April 10 through May 30, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Athens, Jackson, Lawrence, and Vinton, along with Cabell, Jackson, Mason, and Wood counties in West Virginia, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 12, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <u>Emergency Assistance for Livestock</u>, <u>Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program</u>; <u>Emergency Conservation Program</u>; <u>Livestock Forage</u> <u>Disaster Program</u>; <u>Livestock Indemnity Program</u>; <u>Operating and Farm Ownership Loans</u>; and the <u>Tree</u> <u>Assistance Program</u>.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov