

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 4 Tennessee Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Tennessee | September 24, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Kentucky, Tennessee

Triggering Disaster: High Winds

Application Deadline: September 30, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

State: Kentucky

Counties: Edmonson, Monroe, Todd, Warren

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

State: Kentucky

Counties: Allen, Barren, Butler, Christian, Cumberland, Grayson, Hart, Logan, Metcalfe, Muhlenberg,

Simpson

State: Tennessee

Counties: Clay, Macon, Montgomery, Robertson

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and Loan

<u>Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov