Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 3 South Carolina Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | South Carolina | September 25, 2024

View PDF

Eight Contiguous Counties in SC Also Eligible for Assistance

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: South Carolina

Triggering Disaster: Excessive Moisture, Erosion, Heavy Rainfall, and Tropical Storm.

Application Deadline: 05/27/2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Allendale, Barnwell and Horry.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

South Carolina: Aiken, Bamberg, Colleton, Dillon, Georgetown, Hampton, Marion and Orangeburg.

Georgia: Burke and Screven.

North Carolina: Brunswick, Columbus and Robeson.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov