

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 3 Delaware Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought and Excessive Heat

News Release | Delaware | September 26, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Delaware

Triggering Disaster: Drought and Excessive Heat

Application Deadline: 05/27/2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Kent, New Castle, and Sussex

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Maryland: Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Worcester, Wicomico

New Jersey: Cumberland, Gloucester, and Salem

Pennsylvania: Chester, Delaware

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov