

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Counties in Florida as Natural Disaster Areas due to Hurricane Helene

News Release | Florida | October 03, 2024

View PDF

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, D.C. 20250 FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

1. Triggering Presidential Designation M4828:

Impacted Area: Florida and Georgia

Triggering Disaster: Hurricane Helene that occurred on Sept. 23, 2024, and continuing

**Application Deadline:** April 10, 2025

**Primary Counties Eligible:** 

• Florida: Charlotte, Citrus, Dixie, Franklin, Hernando, Hillsborough, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lee, Levy, Madison, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Sarasota, Taylor, and Wakulla

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

- Florida: Alachua, Collier, DeSoto, Gilchrist, Glades, Gulf, Hamilton, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Leon, Liberty, Marion, Polk, Sumter, and Suwannee
- Georgia: Brooks, Lowndes, and Thomas

#### 2. Triggering Presidential Designation M4830:

Impacted Area: Georgia, Florida, and South Carolina

Triggering Disaster: Hurricane Helene that occurred on Sept. 24, 2024, and continuing

**Application Deadline:** May 30, 2025

#### **Primary Counties Eligible:**

 Georgia: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Bulloch, Burke, Candler, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Columbia, Cook, Echols, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Lanier, Laurens, Liberty, Lincoln, Lowndes, McDuffie, Montgomery, Pierce, Richmond, Screven, Tattnall, Telfair, Toombs, Treutlen, Ware, Washington, and Wheeler.

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

- Florida: Baker, Columbia, Hamilton, Jefferson, and Madison
- Georgia: Baldwin, Bleckley, Brantley, Bryan, Charlton, Dodge, Effingham, Elbert, Hancock, Long, McIntosh, Mitchell, Thomas, Tift, Turner, Twiggs, Warren, Wayne, Wilcox, Wilkes, Wilkinson, and Worth
- South Carolina: Aiken, Allendale, Barnwell, Edgefield, Hampton, Jasper, and McCormick

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance</u> fact sheet, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

