Logo:	USDA
-------	------

## USDA Designates Multiple Kentucky Counties as Primary or Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas Due to September Drought Events

Emergency Designation | Kentucky | October 22, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

#### Impacted Area: Kentucky.

Triggering Disaster 1: Drought (Fast Track) that occurred on September 17, 2024.Application Deadline: May 23, 2025.Primary Counties Eligible: Boyd, Carter, Greenup, Lawrence.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Kentucky: Elliott, Johnson, Lewis, Martin, Morgan, Rowan. Ohio: Lawrence, Scioto. West Virginia: Wayne.

Impacted Area: Indiana.
Triggering Disaster 2: Drought (Fast Track) that occurred on September 24, 2024.
Application Deadline: May 30, 2025.
Primary Counties Eligible: Dearborn, Franklin, Ripley.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Kentucky: Boone. Indiana: Decatur, Fayette, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Rush, Switzerland, Union. Ohio: Hamilton.

### Impacted Area: Kentucky.

Triggering Disaster 3: Drought (Fast Track) that occurred on September 24, 2024.
Application Deadline: June 2, 2025.
Primary Counties Eligible: Anderson, Boyle, Franklin, Henry, Martin, Mercer, Owen, Shelby,

# Washington, Woodford.

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

**Kentucky**: Carroll, Casey, Fayette, Floyd, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Jefferson, Jessamine, Johnson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Nelson, Oldham, Pike, Scott, Spencer, Trimble. **West Virginia**: Mingo, Wayne.

Impacted Area: Ohio.
Triggering Disaster 4: Drought (Fast Track) that occurred on September 24, 2024.
Application Deadline: June 2, 2025.
Primary Counties Eligible: Adams, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Coshocton, Hamilton.

## Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kentucky: Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Kenton, Lewis, Mason, Pendleton.
Indiana: Dearborn, Franklin, Union.
Ohio: Clinton, Guernsey, Highland, Holmes, Knox, Licking, Montgomery, Muskingum, Pike, Preble, Scioto, Tuscarawas, Warren.

#### Impacted Area: Tennessee.

Triggering Disaster 5: Drought (Fast Track) that occurred on September 24, 2024.Application Deadline: June 2, 2025.Primary Counties Eligible: Montgomery, Robertson.

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

**Kentucky**: Christian, Logan, Simpson, Todd. **Tennessee**: Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Houston, Stewart, Sumner.

#### More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov