

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 24 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought (Fast-Track)

Emergency Designation | Texas | November 21, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster 1: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring September 17, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: May 23, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Archer, Cottle, Foard, Hall, Hemphill, King, Lipscomb, and Wichita

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Baylor	Briscoe	Childress	Clay	Collingsworth
Dickens	Donley	Gray	Hardeman	Haskell
Jack	Kent	Knox	Motley	Ochiltree

Roberts	Stonewall	Throckmorton	Wheeler	Wilbarger
Young				

Oklahoma: Beaver, Cotton, Ellis, Roger Mills, and Tillman

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring August 13, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: June 9, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Briscoe, Collingsworth, Fannin, and Motley

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Armstrong	Childress	Collin	Cottle	Crosby
Delta	Dickens	Donley	Floyd	Gray
Grayson	Hall	Hunt	King	Lamar
Swisher	Wheeler			

Oklahoma: Beckham, Bryan, and Harmon

Triggering Disaster 3: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring October 8, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: June 16, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Grayson and Lamar

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Collin, Cooke, Delta, Denton, Fannin, and Red River

Oklahoma: Beckham, Bryan, and Harmon

Triggering Disaster 4: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring September 10, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: July 7, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Delta, Dickens, Franklin, Hopkins, and Jack

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Archer	Camp	Clay	Cottle	Crosby
Fannin	Floyd	Garza	Hunt	Kent
King	Lamar	Montague	Motley	Palo Pinto
Parker	Rains	Red River	Stonewall	Titus
Wise	Wood	Young		

Triggering Disaster 5: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring September 17, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: July 14, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Hunt, Rains, and Wood

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Camp, Collin, Delta, Fannin, Franklin, Hopkins, Kaufman,

Rockwall, Smith, Upshur, and Van Zandt

Triggering Disaster 6: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring September 24, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: July 18, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Smith and Van Zandt

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Cherokee, Gregg, Henderson, Hunt, Kaufman, Rains, Rusk,

Upshur, and Wood

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet,

and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov