

USDA Designates 29 Oklahoma Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

Emergency Designation | Texas | November 21, 2024

View PDF

11 Texas Counties Also Eligible for Assistance

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Oklahoma

Triggering Disaster 1: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring August 27, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: June 2, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Roger Mills

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Beckham, Custer, Dewey, and Ellis **Texas:** Hemphill and Wheeler

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring October 1, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: June 9, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Bryan, Craig, Jefferson, Logan, Mayes, Nowata, Pawnee, Payne, Rogers, and Stephens

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Atoka	Canadian	Carter	Cherokee	Choctaw
Comanche	Cotton	Creek	Delaware	Garfield
Garvin	Grady	Johnston	Kingfisher	Lincoln
Love	Marshall	Noble	Oklahoma	Osage
Ottawa	Tulsa	Wagoner	Washington	

Kansas: Cherokee, Labette, and Montgomery

Texas: Clay, Fannin, Grayson, Lamar, and Montague

Triggering Disaster 3: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring October 8, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: June 16, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Adair, Carter, Delaware, Grady, Johnston, Love, Marshall, Ottawa, and Tulsa

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Atoka	Bryan	Caddo	Canadian	Cherokee
Coal	Comanche	Craig	Creek	Garvin
Jefferson	McClain	Mayes	Murray	Okmulgee
Osage	Pawnee	Pontotoc	Rogers	Sequoyah
Stephens	Wagoner	Washington		

Arkansas: Benton, Crawford, and Washington Kansas: Cherokee Missouri: McDonald and Newton Texas: Cooke, Grayson, and Montague

Triggering Disaster 4: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring October 15, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: June 18, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Cherokee, Garvin, Grant, Kay, McCurtain, Murray, Pittsburg, and Wagoner

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Adair	Alfalfa	Atoka	Carter	Choctaw
Coal	Delaware	Garfield	Grady	Haskell
Hughes	Johnston	Latimer	Le Flore	McClain
McIntosh	Mayes	Muskogee	Noble	Okmulgee
Osage	Pontotoc	Pushmataha	Rogers	Sequoyah
Stephens	Tulsa			

Arkansas: Little River, Polk, and Sevier **Kansas:** Cowley, Harper, and Summer **Texas:** Bowie and Red River

Triggering Disaster 5: Drought (Fast-Track) occurring September 3, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: June 30, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Ellis

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Beaver, Dewey, Harper, Roger Mills, and Woodward **Texas:** Hemphill and Lipscomb

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov