

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Eight Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Hurricane Beryl

Emergency Designation | Texas | November 21, 2024

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Hurricane Beryl beginning July 5, 2024, through July 9, 2024.

Application Deadline: May 5, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Angelina, Calhoun, Hardin, Newton, Sabine, San Augustine, Tyler, and

Washington

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Aransas	Austin	Brazos	Burleson	Cherokee
Fayette	Grimes	Houston	Jackson	Jasper
Jefferson	Lee	Liberty	Matagorda	Nacogdoches
Orange	Polk	Refugio	Shelby	Trinity
Victoria	Waller			

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov