

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Texas Counties as Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | New Mexico | December 23, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Triggering Disaster

Impacted Area: Texas, New Mexico and Oklahoma

Triggering Disaster: Excessive Heat and High Winds

Application Deadline: 08/19/2025

Primary Counties Eligible:

• **Texas:** Bailey, Castro, Childress, Deaf Smith, Hale, Hansford, Lubbock, Randall, Runnels and Swisher.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Mexico: Curry, Quay and Roosevelt

Oklahoma: Harmon and Texas

 Texas: Armstong, Briscoe, Carson, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collingsworth, Concho, Cottle, Crosby, Floyd, Garza, Hall, Hardeman, Hockley, Hutchinson, Lamb, Lynn, Moore, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Roberts, Sherman, Taylor, Terry and Tom Green.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

#

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov