

USDA Designates Clearwater, Faribault, Martin, Redwood, and Traverse Counties in Minnesota as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Excessive Rain and Flooding

Emergency Designation | Minnesota | December 31, 2024

View PDF

Numerous additional contiguous counties eligible for assistance in Minnesota and North Dakota.

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster 1: S5913 Excessive Rain from April 1 through July 18, 2024
Application Deadline: August 25, 2025
Primary Counties Eligible: Clearwater
Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:
Minnesota: Becker, Beltrami, Hubbard, Mahnomen, Pennington, Polk

Triggering Disaster 2: S5914 Excessive Rain, Hail, and High Winds from April 17 through September 15, 2024
Application Deadline: August 25, 2025
Primary Counties Eligible: Traverse
Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Big Stone, Grant, Stevens, Wilkin North Dakota: Richland South Dakota: Roberts

Triggering Disaster 3: S5915 Excessive Rain from June 15 through June 22, 2024
Application Deadline: August 25, 2025
Primary Counties Eligible: Faribault
Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:
Minnesota: Blue Earth, Freeborn, Martin, Waseca
Iowa: Kossuth, Winnebago

Triggering Disaster 4: S5916 Excessive Rain and Flash Flood from June 15 through June 24, 2024
Application Deadline: August 25, 2025
Primary Counties Eligible: Martin
Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:
Minnesota: Blue Earth, Faribault, Jackson, Watonwan
Iowa: Emmet, Kossuth

Triggering Disaster 5: S5921 Excessive Rain and Flooding from June 15 through August 27, 2024
Application Deadline: August 25, 2025
Primary Counties Eligible: Redwood
Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:
Minnesota: Brown, Cottonwood, Lyon, Murray, Renville, Yellow Medicine

Triggering Disaster 6: S5919 Excessive Rain and Flooding in North Dakota from April 1 through October 1, 2024
Application Deadline: August 25, 2025
Primary North Dakota Counties Eligible: Cavalier, Pembina, Ransom, Sargent
Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:
Minnesota: Kittson, Marshall
North Dakota: Barnes, Cass, Dickey, LaMoure, Ramsey, Richland, Towner, Walsh
South Dakota: Brown, Marshall, Roberts

More Resources:

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet,

and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov