

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

FEMA Designates 60 Kentucky Counties as a Natural Disaster Area Due to Remnants of Hurricane Helene that occurred September 27 to September 30, 2024 – Adams, Brown, Clermont, Lawrence and Scioto Counties in Ohio are Eligible as Contiguous Counties

Emergency Designation | Ohio | March 05, 2025

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability. USDA's FSA offers these loans for losses caused by Remnants of Hurricane Helene that occurred on September 27 to September 30, 2024. The deadline for producers in designated primary and contiguous counties to apply for loans is July 28, 2025.

Impacted Area: Kentucky, Ohio, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia

Triggering Disaster: Remnants of Hurricane Helene that occurred on September 27 to September 30, 2024.

Application Deadline: July 28, 2025.

Primary Counties Eligible:

Kentucky – Anderson, Bath, Bell, Bourbon, Bracken, Breathitt, Carter, Clark, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Greenup, Harlan, Harrison, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Lee, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Owsley, Powell, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Washington and Wolfe Counties.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kentucky – Boyd, Boyle, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Garrard, Grant, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Leslie, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Martin, Mason, Mercer, Nelson, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Scott, Spencer, Whitley, and Woodford Counties.

Ohio – Adams, Brown, Clermont, Lawrence and Scioto Counties.

Tennessee – Claiborne County.

Virginia – Lee and Wise Counties.

West Virginia – Wayne County.

More Resources:

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov