

# Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 24 Counties in Kentucky as Natural Disaster Areas Due to Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Emergency Designation | Kentucky | March 13, 2025

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

## 1. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: October 24, 2025

#### Primary Counties Eligible:

• Kentucky: Breathitt, Clay, Harlan, Knott, Lee, Letcher, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

- Kentucky: Bell, Estill, Floyd, Jackson, Johnson, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Leslie, Magoffin, Powell, Wolfe
- Virginia: Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Wise
- West Virginia: Mingo, Wayne

# 2. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 1:

Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: October 27, 2025

# Primary Counties Eligible:

• Kentucky: Floyd

## **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

• Kentucky: Johnson, Knott, Magoffin, Martin, Pike

## 3. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 2:

## Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: November 03, 2025

## Primary Counties Eligible:

• Kentucky: Estill, Johnson, Simpson

## **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

• Kentucky: Allen, Clark, Floyd, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Logan, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Powell, Warren

# 4. Triggering Presidential Designation M4860, Amendment 3:

#### Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: November 04, 2025

#### Primary Counties Eligible:

• Kentucky: Ballard, Barren, Butler, Green, Hart, Marshall, Metcalfe, Rockcastle, Spencer, Wayne

# Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

- Illinois: Alexander, Pulaski
- Kentucky: Adair, Allen, Anderson, Bullitt, Calloway, Carlisle, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Larue, Laurel,

Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, McCracken, McCreary, Madison, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Ohio, Pulaski, Russell, Shelby, Taylor, Trigg, Warren

- Missouri: Mississippi
- Tennessee: Pickett, Scott

#### More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

#

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov