

### Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# USDA Designates New Mexico Counties (S5949) as Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought (Fast-Track)

Emergency Designation | New Mexico | March 26, 2025

View PDF

## USDA Designates New Mexico Counties (S5949) as Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought (Fast-Track)

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

#### **Triggering Disaster #1**

Impacted Area: New Mexico, Arizona, and Texas

**Triggering Disaster:**Drought (Fast-Track)

**Application Deadline**: 11/25/2025

#### **Primary Counties Eligible:**

• **New Mexico:** Catron, Chaves, Dona Ana, Eddy, Grant, Hidalgo, Lea, Lincoln, Luna, Otero, and Sierra.

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Arizona: Apache, Cochise, and Greenlee

- New Mexico: Cibola, De Baca, Guadalupe, Roosevelt, Socorro, and Torrance.
- **Texas:** Andrews, Cochran, Culberson, El Paso, Gaines, Hudspeth, Loving, Reeves, Winkler, and Yoakum.

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

### **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov