

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Five New Jersey Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Pennsylvania | September 08, 2020

View PDF

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, Sept. 8, 2020 – Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated five New Jersey counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Gloucester, Morris, Salem, Sussex and Warren counties, who suffered losses due freeze and frost that occurred from April 6 through May 15, 2020, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

These natural disaster designations allow FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

- New Jersey: Atlantic, Camden, Cumberland, Essex, Hunterdon, Passaic, Somerset and Union
- Delaware: Kent and New Castle
- New York: Orange
- Pennsylvania: Bucks, Delaware, Monroe, Northampton, Philadelphia and Pike

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 28, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage

<u>Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree</u> Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, Sept. 8, 2020 – Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated five New Jersey counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Gloucester, Morris, Salem, Sussex and Warren counties, who suffered losses due freeze and frost that occurred from April 6 through May 15, 2020, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

These natural disaster designations allow FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

- New Jersey: Atlantic, Camden, Cumberland, Essex, Hunterdon, Passaic, Somerset and Union
- Delaware: Kent and New Castle
- New York: Orange
- Pennsylvania: Bucks, Delaware, Monroe, Northampton, Philadelphia and Pike

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 28, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <u>Emergency Assistance for Livestock</u>,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; <u>Emergency Conservation Program</u>; <u>Livestock Indemnity Program</u>; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree
Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov