Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Three Wyoming Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | October 30, 2020

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, Oct. 30, 2020 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated three Wyoming counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in who suffered losses caused by recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

These natural disaster designations allow FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Drought Designation - Laramie and Uinta Counties

Producers in Laramie and Uinta counties who suffered losses caused by recent drought may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

Wyoming: Albany, Goshen, Lincoln, Platte and Sweetwater

Colorado: Larimer and Weld

Nebraska: Banner and Kimball

Utah: Rich and Summit

The deadline to apply for emergency loans under this designation is June 16, 2021.

Drought Designation – Weston County

Producers in Weston County who suffered losses caused by drought beginning January 1, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

- Wyoming: Campbell, Converse, Crook and Niobrara
- South Dakota: Custer, Lawrence and Pennington

The deadline to apply for emergency loans under this designation is June 21, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov