

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 4 Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Texas | April 30, 2020

View PDF

WASHINGTON, April 30, 2020 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated four Texas counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to recent disasters may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency</u> loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Drought

Producers in Cameron and Duval counties who suffered losses due to recent drought may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Texas counties of Brooks, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, La Salle, Live Oak, McMullen, Webb, and Willacy are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Dec. 9, 2020.

Excessive Moisture

Producers in Delta and Grayson counties who suffered losses due to excessive moisture that has occurred since October 1, 2019, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Texas counties of Collin, Cooke, Denton, Fannin, Franklin, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar and Red River, along with Bryan, Love and Marshall counties in Oklahoma, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Dec. 14, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov