

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Fayette County, Texas, as a Primary Natural Disaster Area

News Release | Texas | April 16, 2020

View PDF

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties Also Available

WASHINGTON, April 16, 2020 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated Fayette County, Texas, as a primary natural disaster area. Producers who suffered losses due to recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Texas counties of Austin, Bastrop, Caldwell, Colorado, Gonzales, Lavaca, Lee, and Washington are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Dec. 1, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage

Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree

Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov