

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## **USDA Designates 83 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas**

News Release | Texas | March 20, 2020

View PDF

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

**WASHINGTON, March 19, 2020** — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 83 Texas counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

The Texas counties with the primary natural disaster designation include Anderson, Atascosa, Bandera, Bee, Bell, Blanco, Brazos, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Callahan, Cherokee, Coke, Coleman, Colorado, Comal, Concho, Crockett, Dallam, DeWitt, Dimmit, Eastland, Edwards, Freestone, Frio, Gillespie, Glasscock, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Haskell, Hays, Henderson, Houston, Irion, Jackson, Jim Hogg, Jones, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kinney, La Salle, Lavaca, Leon, Live Oak, Llano, McCulloch, Mason, Maverick, Medina, Menard, Navarro, Nolan, Palo Pinto, Real, Runnels, San Saba, Schleicher, Shackelford, Smith, Starr, Stephens, Sterling, Taylor, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde, Van Zandt, Victoria, Webb, Wharton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Williamson, Wilson, Wood, Young, Zapata, and Zavala.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Texas counties of Angelina, Archer, Austin, Bastrop, Baylor, Bexar, Brazoria, Brooks, Calhoun, Camp, Clay, Comanche, Coryell, Crane, Duval, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fayette, Fisher, Foard, Fort Bend, Franklin, Gregg, Grimes, Hardeman, Hartley, Hidalgo, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Howard, Hunt, Jack, Jim Wells, Kaufman, Kimble, King, Knox, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, McLennan, McMullen, Madison, Martin, Matagorda, Midland, Milam, Mills, Mitchell, Moore, Nacogdoches, Parker, Pecos, Rains, Reagan, Refugio, Robertson, Rusk, San Patricio, Scurry, Sherman, Stonewall, Sutton, Terrell, Trinity, Upshur, Upton, Walker, and Washington, along with Union County, New Mexico, and

Cimarron, Cotton, Jackson, and Tillman counties in Oklahoma, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Nov. 7, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <a href="Emergency Assistance for Livestock">Emergency Assistance for Livestock</a>, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; <a href="Emergency Conservation Program">Emergency Conservation Program</a>; <a href="Livestock Forage">Livestock Indemnity Program</a>; <a href="Operating and Farm Ownership Loans">Operating and Farm Ownership Loans</a>; and the <a href="Tree">Tree</a> Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov