

## USDA Designates Five Mississippi Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | January 07, 2021

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

**WASHINGTON, Jan. 7, 2021** — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated five Mississippi counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in George, Hancock, Harrison, Pearl River and Perry counties who suffered losses caused by Hurricane Zeta that occurred from October 28 through October 29, 2020, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency loans</u>.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties and parishes listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

- Mississippi: Forrest, Greene, Jackson, Jones, Lamar, Marion, Stone and Wayne
- Alabama: Mobile
- Louisiana: St. Tammany and Washington

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Aug. 18, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <u>Emergency Assistance for Livestock</u>, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov