Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 33 Pennsylvania Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | March 26, 2019

View PDF

Release No. 0018.19

Contact:

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, March 26, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 33 Pennsylvania counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses caused by excessive rain, flash flooding and flooding that occurred on or after July 21, 2018, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

The counties in the primary damaged area include Adams, Blair, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Lancaster, Lebanon, Luzerne, Lycoming, McKean, Northampton, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Susquehanna, Washington, Westmoreland, Wyoming and York.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Pennsylvania counties of Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Berks, Bradford, Bucks, Carbon, Chester, Clarion, Cumberland, Dauphin, Forest, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lehigh, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montour, Northumberland, Perry, Sullivan, Tioga, Union, Venango, Warren and Wayne, along with Allegany, Baltimore, Carroll, Cecil, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, and Washington counties in Maryland; Warren County, New Jersey; Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Steuben and Tioga counties in New York; Ashtabula and Trumbull counties in Ohio; and

Brooke, Hancock, Marshall, Monongalia, Ohio, Preston, and Wetzel counties in West Virginia, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Nov. 20, 2019.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov