Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 20 New York Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | April 22, 2019

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, April 22, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 20 New York counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Albany, Cattaraugus, Chemung, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, Montgomery, Orange, Otsego, Rockland, Schenectady, Schoharie, Steuben, Sullivan and Tioga counites who suffered losses caused by excessive precipitation since July 23, 2018, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous New York counties of Allegany, Broome, Chautauqua, Cortland, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Herkimer, Livingston, Madison, Oneida, Ontario, Oswego, Putnam, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schuyler, Tompkins, Ulster, Warren, Westchester, Wyoming, and Yates, along with Berkshire County, Massachusetts; Bergen, Passaic and Sussex counties in New Jersey; and Bradford, McKean, Pike, Potter, Susquehanna, Tioga, Warren and Wayne counties in Pennsylvania, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Dec. 10, 2019.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage

<u>Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree</u> Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov