Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 16 Ohio Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | August 12, 2019

View PDF

Contact:

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, **Aug. 12**, **2019** — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 16 Ohio counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to five separate disaster events may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency</u> loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Excessive Precipitation, Flooding and Ponding – March 1 – June 6, 2019

Producers in Fulton, Henry and Lucas counties who suffered losses caused by excessive precipitation, flooding and ponding that occurred between March 1 and June 6, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Defiance, Hancock, Ottawa, Putnam, Williams and Wood, along with Hillsdale, Lenawee and Monroe counties in Michigan, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is March 9, 2020.

Excessive Rain and Flooding – April 1 – July 7, 2019

Producers in Williams County who suffered losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred between April 1 and July 7, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Defiance, Fulton and Henry, along with DeKalb and Steuben counties in Indiana, and Hillsdale County in Michigan, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 1, 2020.

Excessive Rain and Flooding – April 8 – July 5, 2019

Producers in Marion County who suffered losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred between April 8 and July 5, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Crawford, Delaware, Hardin, Morrow, Union, and Wyandot are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 1, 2020.

Excessive Rain and Flooding – April 1 – July 3, 2019

Producers in Erie, Huron, Ottawa, Sandusky, and Van Wert counties who suffered losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred between April 1 and July 3, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Allen, Ashland, Auglaize, Crawford, Lorain, Lucas, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Richland, Seneca, and Wood, along with Adams and Allen counties in Indiana, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 2, 2020.

Excessive Rain and Flooding – Sept. 1, 2018 – July 3, 2019

Producers in Allen, Brown, Clermont, Crawford, Hancock, and Morrow counties who suffered losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred between Sept. 1, 2018 and July 3, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Adams, Auglaize, Clinton, Delaware, Hamilton, Hardin, Henry, Highland, Huron, Knox, Marion, Putnam, Richland, Seneca, Van Wert, Warren, Wood, and Wyandot, along with Bracken, Campbell, Mason and Pendleton counties in Kentucky, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 2, 2020.

The Secretary previously announced the following 12 Ohio counties were designated primary natural disaster areas: Athens, Auglaize, Fairfield, Hocking, Licking, Ottawa, Paulding, Sandusky, Seneca,

Washington, Wood, and Wyandot.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage

Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov