Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Seven Ohio Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | September 10, 2019

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border State Also Available

WASHINGTON, Sept. 10, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated seven Ohio counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to two separate disaster events may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Excessive Rain and Flooding - Oct. 15, 2018-July 1, 2019

Producers in Defiance, Fayette, and Logan counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain and flooding that occurred between Oct. 15, 2018, and July 1, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Auglaize, Champaign, Clinton, Greene, Hardin, Henry, Highland, Madison, Paulding, Pickaway, Putnam, Ross, Shelby, Union, and Williams, along with Allen and DeKalb counties in Indiana, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain and Flooding – Jan. 1 – Aug. 1, 2019

Producers in Butler, Hamilton, Knox and Warren counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain and flooding that occurred January 1 through Aug. 1, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Ashland, Clermont, Clinton, Coshocton, Delaware, Greene, Holmes, Licking, Montgomery, Morrow, Preble, and Richland, along with Dearborn, Franklin,

and Union counties in Indiana and Boone, Campbell and Kenton counties in Kentucky, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 29, 2020.

The Secretary previously announced the following Ohio counties as designated primary natural disaster areas: Allen, Athens, Auglaize, Brown, Clermont, Crawford, Erie, Fairfield, Fulton, Hancock, Henry, Hocking, Huron, Licking, Lucas, Marion, Morrow, Ottawa, Paulding, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Washington, Williams, Wood, and Wyandot.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov