USDA Designates 15 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Emergency Designation | October 10, 2019

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border State Also Available

WASHINGTON, Oct. 10, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 15 Texas counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Baylor, Bell, Callahan, Foard, Hardeman, Haskell, Jones, Knox, Milam, Nolan, Runnels, Shackelford, Taylor, Throckmorton, and Williamson counties who suffered losses due to recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency loans</u>.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Texas counties of Archer, Bastrop, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Childress, Coke, Coleman, Concho, Coryell, Cottle, Eastland, Falls, Fisher, King, Lampasas, Lee, McLennan, Mitchell, Robertson, Scurry, Stephens, Stonewall, Tom Green, Travis, Wichita, Wilbarger, and Young, along with Harmon and Jackson counties in Oklahoma, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 4, 2020.

The Secretary previously announced Armstrong, Bowie, Briscoe, Burleson, Castro, Collin, Dimmit, Duval, Ellis, Fannin, Floyd, Frio, Grayson, Hall, Hunt, Jackson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, La Salle, Lipscomb, Nueces, Matagorda, Randall, Red River, Refugio, San Patricio, Swisher, Webb, Wichita, Wilbarger, Zapata, and Zavala as designated primary natural disaster areas.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <u>Emergency Assistance for Livestock</u>, <u>Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program</u>; <u>Emergency Conservation Program</u>; <u>Livestock Forage</u> <u>Disaster Program</u>; <u>Livestock Indemnity Program</u>; <u>Operating and Farm Ownership Loans</u>; and the <u>Tree</u> <u>Assistance Program</u>.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov