

## USDA Designates Seven Tennessee Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | October 31, 2019

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

**WASHINGTON, Oct. 31, 2019** — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated seven Tennessee counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to recent weather events may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

These natural disaster designations allow FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

## Drought

Producers in Franklin and Marion counties who suffered losses due to recent drought are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Tennessee counties of Coffee, Grundy, Hamilton, Lincoln, Moore, and Sequatchie, along with Jackson and Madison counties in Alabama and Dade County, Georgia, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

## **Excessive Rain and Flooding**

Producers in Fayette, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, and Madison counties who suffered losses due to prolonged, excessive rain and flooding that occurred between Sept. 1, 2018, and Aug. 31, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Tennessee counties of Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Gibson, Hardin, Lauderdale, McNairy, Shelby, and Tipton, along with Alcorn, Benton, Marshall, and Tippah counties in Mississippi, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 24, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <u>Emergency Assistance for Livestock</u>, <u>Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program</u>; <u>Emergency Conservation Program</u>; <u>Livestock Forage</u> <u>Disaster Program</u>; <u>Livestock Indemnity Program</u>; <u>Operating and Farm Ownership Loans</u>; and the <u>Tree</u> <u>Assistance Program</u>.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov