USDA Designates 22 Michigan Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Emergency Designation | December 19, 2019

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border State Also Available

WASHINGTON, Dec. 19, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 22 Michigan counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to recent weather events may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency loans</u>.

These natural disaster designations allow FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Freeze

Producers in Arenac, Berrien, Cass, Huron, Iosco, Kalamazoo, Ogemaw, Oscoda, St. Joseph, and Van Buren counties who suffered losses due to freeze that occurred Jan. 1, 2019, through April 30, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Michigan counties of Alcona, Allegan, Alpena, Barry, Bay, Branch, Calhoun, Crawford, Gladwin, Montgomery, Otsego, Roscommon, Sanilac, and Tuscola, along with Elkhart, LaGrange, LaPorte, and St. Joseph counties in Indiana, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain

Producers in Alcona, Alpena, Calhoun, Iosco, Isabella, Jackson, Montcalm, Montmorency, Saginaw, and Van Buren counties, who suffered losses due to excessive rain that occurred March 1, 2019,

through September 1, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Michigan counties of Allegan, Arenac, Barry, Bay, Berrien, Branch, Cass, Cheboygan, Clare, Clinton, Crawford, Eaton, Genesee, Gladwin, Gratiot, Hillsdale, Ingham, Ionia, Kalamazoo, Kent, Lenawee, Livingston, Mecosta, Midland, Newaygo, Ogemaw, Osceola, Oscoda, Presque Isle, St. Joseph, Shiawassee, Tuscola, and Washtenaw are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain, Flooding, and Flash Flooding

Producers in Allegan and Ottawa counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain, flooding, and flash flooding that occurred from March 1, 2019 to Sept. 1, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Michigan counties of Barry, Kalamazoo, Kent, Muskegon, and Van Buren are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Aug. 17, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

The Secretary previously announced several Michigan counties as primary natural disaster areas. A listing of all disaster designations can be found at <u>fsa.usda.gov</u>.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <u>Emergency Assistance for Livestock</u>, <u>Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program</u>; <u>Emergency Conservation Program</u>; <u>Livestock Forage</u> <u>Disaster Program</u>; <u>Livestock Indemnity Program</u>; <u>Operating and Farm Ownership Loans</u>; and the <u>Tree</u> <u>Assistance Program</u>.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov