Logo: USDA

### Farm Service Agency

#### U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

#### **USDA Designates 63 Colorado Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas**

Emergency Designation | May 10, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <a href="http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/">http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</a>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Colorado

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 5, 2021

**Primary Counties Eligible:** 

Adams

Alamosa

Arapahoe

Archuleta

Baca

Bent

Boulder

Broomfield

Chaffee

Cheyenne
Clear Creek
Conejos
Costilla
Crowley
Delta
Denver
Dolores
Douglas
Eagle
Elbert
El Paso
Fremont
Garfield
Gilpin
Grand
Gunnison
Hinsdale
Huerfano
Huerfano Jackson
Jackson
Jackson Jefferson
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa Kit Carson
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa Kit Carson Lake
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa Kit Carson Lake La Plata
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa Kit Carson Lake La Plata Larimer
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa Kit Carson Lake La Plata Larimer Las Animas
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa Kit Carson Lake La Plata Larimer Las Animas Lincoln
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa Kit Carson Lake La Plata Larimer Las Animas Lincoln Logan
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa Kit Carson Lake La Plata Larimer Las Animas Lincoln Logan
Jackson Jefferson Kiowa Kit Carson Lake La Plata Larimer Las Animas Lincoln Logan Mesa

Montezuma

Montrose

Morgan

Otero

Ouray

Park

Phillips

Pitkin

**Prowers** 

Pueblo

Rio Blanco

Rio Grande

Routt

Saguache

San Juan

San Miguel

Sedwick

Summit

Teller

Washington

Weld

Yuma

#### **Contiguous Counties also Eligible:**

Colorado: Custer

Arizona: Apache

Kansas: Cheyenne, Greeley, Hamilton, Morton, Sherman, Stanton and Wallace

Nebraska: Chase, Cheyenne, Deuel, Dundy, Kimball and Perkins

New Mexico: Colfax, Rio Arriba, San Juan, Taos and Union

Oklahoma: Cimarron

Utah: Daggett, Grand, San Juan and Uintah

Wyoming: Albany, Carbon, Laramie and Sweetwater

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

# **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov