USDA Designates 33 New Mexico Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | May 10, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: New Mexico

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 5, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Bernalillo Catron Chaves Cibola Colfax Curry De Baca Dona Ana Eddy

Grant

Guadalupe

Harding
Hidalgo
Lea
Lincoln
Los Alamos
Luna
McKinley
Mora
Otero
Quay
Rio Arriba
Roosevelt
Sandoval
San Juan
San Miguel
Santa Fe
Sierra
Socorro
Taos
Torrance

Valencia

Union

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Arizona: Apache, Cochise and Greenlee

Colorado: Archuleta, Baca, Conejos, Costilla, La Plata, Las Animas and Montezuma

Oklahoma: Cimarron

Texas: Andrews, Bailey, Cochran, Culberson, Dallam, Deaf Smith, El Paso, Gaines, Hartley, Hudspeth, Loving, Oldham, Parmer, Reeves, Winkler and Yoakum

Utah: San Juan

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov