

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 15 Arizona Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Colorado | May 11, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Arizona

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 5, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

| Apache | Gila | La Paz | Navajo |
|---------|------|---------|---------|
| Apacile | Olia | La i az | Inavajo |

| Cochise | Graham | Maricopa | Pima |
|----------|----------|----------|------|
| Coconino | Greenlee | Mohave | Pina |

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

California: Imperial, Riverside and San Bernardino

Colorado: Montezuma

Nevada: Clark and Lincoln

New Mexico: Catron, Cibola, Grant, Hidalgo, McKinley and San Juan

Utah: Kane, San Juan and Washington

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov