

USDA Designates 50 California Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Arizona | May 12, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: California

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 5, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Alameda	Glenn	Marin	Riverside
Alpine	Humboldt	Mariposa	Sacramer
Amador	Imperial	Mendocino	San Berna
Butte	Inyo	Merced	San Franc
Calaveras	Kern	Modoc	San Joaqı
Colusa	Kings	Mono	San Mate
Contra Costa	Lake	Napa	Santa Cla
Del Norte	Lassen	Nevada	Shasta
El Dorado	Los Angeles	Placer	Sierra
Fresno	Madera	Plumas	Siskiyou

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

California: Monterey, Orange, San Benito, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz and Ventura

Arizona: La Paz, Mohave and Yuma

Nevada: Clark, Douglas, Esmeralda, Lyon, Mineral, Nye, Washoe and Carson City

Oregon: Curry, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath and Lake

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov