

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 10 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Texas | May 11, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 26, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Bee	Cottle	Karnes	Kleberg	Matagorda
Brazoria	DeWitt	King	Live Oak	Victoria

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

Atascosa	Fort Bend	Haskell	McMullen	San Patricio
Brooks	Galveston	Jackson	Motley	Stonewall

Calhoun	Goliad	Jim Wells	Nueces	Wharton
Childress	Gonzales	Kenedy	Refugio	Wilson
Dickens	Hall	Kent		
Duval	Hardeman	Knox		
Foard	Harris	Lavaca		

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov