

USDA Designates 118 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Texas | May 10, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 5, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Andrews	Comal	Guadalupe	Lynn	Runnels
Aransas	Concho	Hale	McCulloch	San Patricio
Armstrong	Crane	Hall	McMullen	San Saba
Atascosa	Crockett	Hardeman	Martin	Starr
Bailey	Crosby	Hays	Mason	Sterling

Bandera	Culberson	Hemphill	Maverick	Swisher
Bastrop	Dallam	Hidalgo	Medina	Terrell
Bell	Dawson	Hockley	Menard	Terry
Bexar	Deaf Smith	Howard	Midland	Tom Green
Blanco	Dickens	Hudspeth	Milam	Travis
Borden	Dimmit	Irion	Mills	Upton
Brazos	Donley	Jeff Davis	Motley	Uvalde
Brewster	Duval	Jim Hogg	Nueces	Val Verde
Briscoe	Ector	Kendall	Oldham	Ward
Brooks	Edwards	Kenedy	Parmer	Webb
Brown	El Paso	Kerr	Pecos	Wheeler
Burleson	Floyd	Kimble	Presidio	Willacy
Caldwell	Frio	Kinney	Randall	Williamson
Cameron	Gaines	Lamb	Reagan	Wilson
Castro	Garza	La Salle	Real	Winkler
Childress	Gillespie	Lee	Reeves	Yoakum
Cochran	Glasscock	Llano	Refugio	Zapata
Coleman	Gray	Loving	Roberts	Zavala

Collingsworth	Grimes	Lubbock		
---------------	--------	---------	--	--

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Texas: Bee, Burnet, Calhoun, Callahan, Carson, Coke, Camanche, Coryell, Cottle, Eastland, Falls, Fayette, Foard, Goliad, Gonzales, Hamilton, Hansford, Hartley, Hutchison, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kent, King, Kleberg, Lampasas, Leon, Lipscomb, Live Oak, McLennan, Madison, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Nolan, Ochiltree, Potter, Robertson, Schleicher, Scurry, Sherman, Stonewall, Sutton, Taylor, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington and Wilbarger.

New Mexico: Curry, Dona Ana, Eddy, Lea, Otero, Quay, Roosevelt and Union

Oklahoma: Beckham, Cimarron, Ellis, Harmon, Jackson and Roger Mills

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov