

## USDA Designates Seven Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Texas | May 11, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 20, 2021

#### Primary Counties Eligible:

Fay	ette	Kent	Parker	Wise
Gon	zales	Lavaca	Stonewall	

#### Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

Austin	DeWitt	Jack	King	Scurry
Bastrop	Dickens	Jackson	Knox	Tarrant

Caldwell	Fisher	Johnson	Lee	Victoria
Colorado	Garza	Jones	Montague	Washington
Cooke	Guadalupe	Karnes	Palo Pinto	Wilson
Crosby	Haskell			
Denton	Hood			

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov