

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 43 North Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | South Dakota | May 12, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: North Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 20, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Adams	Emmons	McLean	Sheridan
Benson	Foster	Mercer	Sioux
Billings	Golden Valley	Morton	Slope
Bottineau	Grant	Mountrail	Stark

Bowman	Hettinger	Nelson	Stutsman
Burke	Kidder	Oliver	Towner
Burleigh	LaMoure	Pembina	Walsh
Cavalier	Logan	Pierce	Ward
Divide	McHenry	Ramsey	Wells
Dunn	McIntosh	Renville	Williams
Eddy	McKenzie	Rolette	

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota:

Barnes Grand Forks Ransom

Dickey Griggs Steele

Minnesota: Kittson and Marshall

Montana: Fallon, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan and Wibaux

South Dakota: Campbell, Corson, Harding, McPherson and Perkins

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov