Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 13 Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | May 13, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: Montana

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Jan. 3, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Carter

Custer

Daniels

Dawson

Fallon

McCone

Phillips
Prairie
Richland
Roosevelt
Sheridan
Valley
Wibaux
Contiguous Counties also Eligible:
Montana:
Blaine
Fergus
Garfield
Petroleum
Powder River
Rosebud
North Dakota: Bowman, Divide, Golden Valley, McKenzie, Slope and Williams
South Dakota: Butte and Harding
Wyoming: Crook
For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit <u>farmers.gov/recover</u> .
Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov